Francey Pants

FullSizeRender

I’m not exactly sure where to start. These past three weeks have been some of the most wonderful I’ve experienced, and I can’t wait to share it all with you. Fashion blog, shmashion blog we are heading into full on lifestyle here. But don’t worry, I promise I’ll still tell you what I’m wearing. 

Three weeks ago I flew to Cannes to meet C for our lovely vacation in France. He was there for work and I just couldn’t let him go without me this time. I have never been out of the country aside from Jamaica and Mexico (both resort vacations) so this was extra exciting. Note: I am an awful, anxious flyer and will definitely post some travel tips in another post for all you fellow nervous Nancys.FullSizeRender_2

I arrived in Nice around 10 a.m. and was greeted with beautiful sunshine and a beautiful (yeah, everyone here is handsome) chauffeur. Really, C went all out. He was holding a card with my last name on it—it really doesn’t take much to impress me—and off we went to meet my beau in Cannes. It truly was the most gorgeous car ride I’d ever been on: mountains, the Mediterranean, palm trees, and pastels… basically the Instagram aesthetic I aspire to. FullSizeRender_1

The four days we spent there were filled with movie premiers, long dresses I haven’t sported since prom, Rosé, pizza, oysters and boat rides. It was “pinch me” perfect. I saw Ryan Gosling, Blake Lively and Steven Spielberg on the red carpet and tried not to squeal, because apparently that isn’t allowed when you are on the red carpet and not bystander. I took a boat ride to a teensy island and contemplated my existence as a citizen of the entire world. Because I think in the back of my head I assumed I was on the Truman Show and the only thing that actually existed was me. I went to a premiere after party and stepped on the leading lady’s gown, because me, and danced til my feet were bleeding. 

I realize I am straying from my usual tone, snark-filled and bursting with self-deprecating side notes. But I’m at a loss. I bought new clothes for the trip and I looked good. Like, really good. And I had a blast. C is one of the most thoughtful and romantic people I know (lucky I know) and he was careful to plan our shenanigans down to a T, something I have grown accustom to in our relationship.  I thrive when schedules are involved. I was reminded when I should start getting ready for events, encouraged to explore on my own, and recommended to drop by the french Pharmacies to pick out expensive skincare products. Wow, ok. Writing all of that out has reminded me I should thank him.FullSizeRender_3

Cannes is probably the most picturesque place I’ve ever been, and I hope to have captured enough of it with my DSLR and the new Polaroid camera I purchased just for the occasion. I mean really, when else is a good time to buy one?

I’ve decided to break up the trip in a few posts, so stay tuned for more.

Leave a comment